Laredo, Texas - Camila Sanmiguel, a senior at Alexander High School, was selected as the Laredo Sector Border Patrol’s Youth of the Year for 2018.  Laredo Sector Acting Chief Patrol Agent Jason D. Owens made the announcement of the selection by program partners during the 2018 International Bank of Commerce (IBC) Youth Night celebration, earlier this year.

On August 10, 2018, the Laredo Sector Border Patrol and the United Independent School District participated in an event at the State Capitol in Austin, Texas where Texas State Representative Richard Raymond, from District 42 - Laredo, honored Camila.  The event included a meet and greet with Representative Raymond and a special ceremony where Camila was presented with a framed resolution from the Texas House of Representatives in her honor. 

Camila, the daughter of Mr. Eusebio Gerardo Sanmiguel Salinas and Mrs. Rosario Sanmiguel, plans to attend Harvard University where she will study History and Literature or Comparative Literature with minors in either Economics or Computer Science. Along with being a National Honor Society member, Camila is a member of the Class of 2017 National Student Poets as selected by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers in cooperation with the Library of Congress.

“I want to thank Representative Raymond and his staff for hosting our Youth of the Year at the Texas State Capitol.  We are also truly grateful for the continued support Senator Zaffirini has provided this remarkable program since its inception. We congratulate Camila on her achievements and wish her continued success,” said Laredo Sector Acting Chief Patrol Agent Jason D. Owens.

The Youth of the Year ceremony at the Texas Capitol culminates the Youth of the Month program that recognizes 10 students each month from all Laredo area high schools.  Students are selected for the honor based on academic achievement, community involvement and demonstration of their fortitude to succeed.

The Youth of the Month Program was established by Border Patrol as an effort to recognize local youth for their outstanding achievements.